Our Leaders

Rex BuddeRex Budde
President & Chief Executive Officer
Scott Sabens
Steve Sabens
Chair, Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

  • Steven Sabens, Chair: Retired Carbondale Community High School Superintendent
  • W. Eugene Basanta, Vice Chair: Professor, SIU School of Law
  • Marlene Simpson, Secretary: Herrin City Clerk
  • Michael W. Absher: Chairman, Watermark Automotive Group of Companies
  • Harold Bardo: Director, SIU MED-PREP
  • Rex Budde: President and CEO, Southern Illinois Healthcare
  • Kathleen Fralish: Retired President and Founder, Center for Comprehensive Services
  • Terrence Glennon, MD: Physiatrist, RIC and SIH Partnership
  • Morton Levine: Partner, Barnett and Levine, CPA’s
  • Debra McMorrow: President and Chief Executive Officer, Learning Services
  • Bob Mees: President Emeritus, John A. Logan College
  • George O’Neil: Retired Executive Director, Shawnee Health Service
  • Marsha Ryan, MD: General surgeon

Senior Management

  • Rex Budde: President/CEO
  • Marci Moore-Connelley, MD: VP, Chief Medical Officer
  • Mike Kasser: VP, CFO/Treasurer
  • Terence Farrell: VP, Administrator, Herrin Hospital, Miners Memorial Health Center
  • Julie Firman: VP, Chief Nursing Officer
  • Pam Henderson: VP, Human Resources
  • Bart Millstead: VP, Administrator, Memorial Hospital of Carbondale
  • Phil Schaefer: VP FACHE and Administrator of Ambulatory and Physician Services
  • John Brothers: VP, Administrator, St. Joseph Memorial Hospital
  • Bill Sherwood: VP , General Counsel
  • Woody Thorne: VP, Community Affairs
  • Shelly Pierce: VP, Quality & Risk
SIH Board Portal